So where do I go when I have a complaint about the Ombudsman?
Also, if he’s so great, why don’t I hear more about all of his many triumphs? I know for a fact that I could get three under-employed lawyers to split his duties just for the cost of his expense account.

National Post

Taxpayers have forked over hundreds of thousands of dollars so the Ontario ombudsman could commute between Toronto and Ottawa for the past decade.

Colin Perkel/ Canadian Press Colin Perkel/ Canadian Press

André Marin has claimed $206,821.16 in housing expenses for just a fraction of that time — from  Oct. 1, 2010, to March 31, 2014, the last date for which his proactive expense disclosure is available. That’s an average of $14,800 a month, or $592,000 over 10 years.

“I don’t hide that I live in Ottawa,” Marin said. “I tweet about my life, I tweet about my dogs, so I’ve been very open about it and transparent.”

He was first appointed in 2005.

The legislation governing his office states, “[T]he Ombudsman is entitled to be paid reasonable travelling and living expenses while absent from his or her ordinary place of residence” when doing work for his post.

Marin’s expenses show he sometimes spends more…

View original post 464 more words

